EarthBound/Mother Series

Year: 1989 (started)

Publisher: Nintendo

Developer: APE Inc.

Country: Japan

Genre: Role-playing Game

Platforms: Various

The EarthBound/Mother series began in 1989 with Mother, which was released in 2015 as EarthBound Beginnings worldwide. In 1994, it was followed by Mother 2 in Japan, or EarthBound in North America (1995). Finally, Mother 3, which was only released in Japan, came out in 2006.

The series is known for being set in modern-day America with its various casts consisting of average children with psychic powers, using average everyday items such as baseball hats and frying pans as weapons.

LGBTQ References in this series:

EarthBound/Mother 2 (1994): Tony

Mother 3 (2006): The Magypsies

See also QRM’s entry for this game series


  1. EarthBound. (n.d.). Retrieved February 19, 2020, from
  2. EarthBound (series). (n.d.). Retrieved February 19, 2020, from
  3. Mother (video game). (n.d.). Retrieved February 19, 2020, from
  4. Mother 3. (n.d.). Retrieved February 19, 2020, from