Final Fantasy series

Year (first game): 1987

Publisher: Square Enix

Developer: Square Enix

Creator: Hironobu Sakaguchi

Country: Japan

Genre: Role-playing

Platform: Various


Final Fantasy I box art Image Credit:


Box Art Final Fantasy XIV Image credit

The ‘Final Fantasy’ series consists of science fiction, fantasy role-playing games (RPGs). It includes a massively multiplayer online game (MMOG) and is supplemented by films, anime, print media, and a variety of other paratexts. It is also Square Enix’s best selling game series and currently has 14 installments (listed below).

LGBTQ  references in this game series:

Final Fantasy V (1992): Faris Scherwiz, Bartz Klauser

Final Fantasy VII (1997): Ambiguous Characters; Cross-Dressing; Mukki

Final Fantasy VIII (1999): Adel

Final Fantasy IX (2000): Quina Quen

Final Fantasy X (2001): Tidus, Brother and Wakka

Final Fantasy XIII (2009): Fang and Vanille

Final Fantasy XIV (2014): Same-sex marriage, Gay NPC couple

See also QRM’s entry for this game.


  1. Final Fantasy. (n.d.). Retrieved from
  2. Final Fantasy (video game). (n.d.). Retrieved from
  3. Vincent, B. (May 5, 2014). Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn Review. Retrieved from